Slow-Roasted Romas

Okay, so I got carried away with the San Marzano tomatoes at the Farmers’ Market today.  But stuck in my mind was the gorgeous photo of roasted plum tomatoes on Tea&Cookies’ recent blog post.  (If you’re not familiar with this blog, see my blog roll on the right for the link.) The smattering of dirt on these babies’ faces made them even more appealing, as if local and organic weren’t enough.  At an irresistibly low price this late in the season, I bought , let’s just say, more than several pounds’ worth.

But how to roast them?  I went back to Tea&Cookies (Tea, I love your blog!) and found her recommendation for preserving them well into the winter, when tomatoes have all the flavor and texture of a paper bag.

San Marzano tomatoes with fresh parsley

The directions are so simple that they don’t even qualify as a recipe.  Here’s what to do:

1.  Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

2. Line a large cookie sheet or tray pan with tin foil.  Slice the tomatoes length-wise . Try to keep the slices approximately the same thickness.

3. Place them cut-side up on the sheet.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.  You can also sprinkle on some herbs if you wish–I didn’t this time.

4. Roast for about 7 hours or overnight, if you’re comfortable with that. The sides should be crinkled and dry and the interiors still juicy.

About halfway done

That’s it!  I’m thinking of using them to liven up pasta this winter, with maybe a little basil or parsley thrown in along with the EVOO, salt and pepper.  Come to think of it, I ‘ll probably add some red wine vinegar to the mix.  Maybe I can use them on top of pizza crust slathered with EVOO. (Can you tell I have a bit of an EVOO addiction?)

How would you use them? Do you think they’ll freeze well? I honestly have no idea, but I’m counting on it!

Looking forward to your comments,

Heidi

3 thoughts on “Slow-Roasted Romas

Leave a Reply

